print preview

NBC arms control

“Switzerland seeks to prevent further proliferation of nuclear, biological and chemical weapons of mass destruction and to achieve their complete abolition.” (Report 2010 of the Federal Council on Switzerland’s Security Policy)

Switzerland attaches great importance to international arms control and non-proliferation efforts. As an institute serving the interests of national and international security, we are deeply committed to mitigating the threat posed by weapons of mass destruction. We support the implementation and preparation of international treaties of disarmament and arms control with the following services:

  • Consultations for the FDFA, SECO and export control organisations
  • Expertise for Swiss representatives in disarmament negotiations
  • Participating in disarmament negotiations
  • Provision of substances, analyses and data to international organisations
  • Measurement exercises
  • Training of arms control inspectors
  • Implementation of allocated tasks within the scope of national authorities
  • Increase awareness for the dual-use issue

With our conference series Spiez CONVERGENCE, we have created an information and discussion platform on the latest advances and trends in science and technology as well as the convergence of different disciplines with potentially far-reaching consequences for the Biological and Toxin Weapons Convention (BTWC) and the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) as well as the export control regimes.

Contact: Dr. Cédric Invernizzi

Nuclear arms control

We advise Swiss delegations in negotiations as well as federal authorities entrusted with the implementation of nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation treaties. This includes serving as experts in the framework of the Comprehensive Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT). Based on our access to the International Monitoring System’s (IMS) measurement data, we follow the measurements and data products of the International Data Centre (IDC). In the case of a nuclear event, its global network of around 80 radionuclide monitoring stations quickly provides relevant information.
In the area of nuclear forensics we deal with the attribution of radioactive samples or fissile material to their origins, or rather their manufacturer.

Contact: Dr. Christoph Wirz

Arms control for biological weapons

We are engaged in disarmament, arms control and export control measures for biological weapons and dual-use goods, as well as the implementation of treaties such as the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) or the Australia Group’s export control regime. The focus lies on advising Swiss delegations in negotiations, as well as supporting the federal authorities entrusted with the implementation of these treaties. In particular, we are responsible for Switzerland’s annual reporting to the States Parties to the BTWC within the framework of confidence-building measures. We participate in the negotiations on the Australia Group and support the national authorities in ensuring implementation of and compliance with the export control regimes.

With our activities in the area of the UN Secretary-General’s Mechanism (UNSGM), we are building up a laboratory network that addresses forensic issues in order to be able to assign deliberately used pathogens to an origin.

Contact: Dr. Maximilian Beckmann

Arms control for chemical weapons

We are responsible for export and arms control measures that mitigate the spread or production of chemical weapons and support the implementation of multilateral agreements. Our core mission includes providing technical advice to Swiss delegations as well as to federal authorities entrusted with the implementation of these treaties. In particular, Arms Control for Chemical Weapons is part of the national authority of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) under the auspices of the FDFA and heads the reporting office for the chemical industry for declarations in accordance with the requirements of the CWC. It advises the chemical industry on OPCW routine inspections in Switzerland and provides technical support.

Contact: Dr. Beat Schmidt


Spiez Laboratory Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tel.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Spiez Laboratory

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez

print preview

ABC-Rüstungskontrolle

„Die Schweiz setzt sich dafür ein, dass Massenvernichtungswaffen nuklearer, biologischer und chemischer Art nicht weiterverbreitet, sondern vollständig beseitigt werden“ (Bericht des Bundesrates über die Sicherheitspolitik der Schweiz 2010).

Die Schweiz misst den internationalen Anstrengungen zur Rüstungskontrolle und zur Verhinderung der Weiterverbreitung von Massenvernichtungswaffen grosse Bedeutung bei. Als Institut im Dienst der nationalen und internationalen Sicherheit setzen wir uns deshalb dafür ein, die Bedrohung durch Massenvernichtungswaffen zu reduzieren. Wir unterstützen die Umsetzung und Vorbereitung von internationalen Verträgen zu Abrüstung und Rüstungskontrolle mit folgenden Dienstleistungen:

  • Beratungen für EDA, seco und Exportkontrollgruppen
  • Expertisen für CH-Vertreter in Abrüstungsverhandlungen
  • Teilnahme in Abrüstungsverhandlungen
  • Lieferung von Stoffen, Analysen und Daten an internationale Organisationen
  • Messübungen
  • Ausbildung von Inspektoren im Bereich Rüstungskontrolle
  • Erfüllung zugewiesener Aufgaben innerhalb der nationalen Behörden
  • Sensibilisierung zum Thema Dual-Use

Mit unserer Konferenzreihe Spiez CONVERGENCE schaffen wir eine Informations- und Diskussionsplattform zu Fortschritten und Trends in Wissenschaft und Technologie sowie der Konvergenz verschiedener Disziplinen mit potenziell weitreichenden Konsequenzen für das Biologiewaffenübereinkommen und das Chemiewaffenübereinkommen sowie für die Exportkontrollregime.

Kontakt: Dr. Cédric Invernizzi

Rüstungskontrolle Nuklear

Wir beraten Schweizer Delegationen in Verhandlungen sowie Stellen des Bundes, die mit der Umsetzung nuklearer Abrüstungs- und Nonproliferations-Abkommen betraut sind. Dazu gehören Expertentätigkeiten im Rahmen des Atomwaffenteststopp-Abkommens (Comprehensive Test-Ban Treaty CTBT). Dank Zugang zu den Messdaten des International Monitoring Systems (IMS) verfolgen wir Messungen und Datenprodukte des International Data Centers (IDC). Im Falle eines nuklearen Ereignisses liefert das weltweite Netz von rund 80 Radionuklidmessstationen schnelle Informationen.

Im Bereich der Nuklearen Forensik befassen wir uns mit der Zuordnung von radioaktiven Proben oder Spaltmaterialien zu deren Ursprung bzw. Hersteller.

Kontakt: Dr. Christoph Wirz

Rüstungskontrolle Biologie

Wir befassen uns mit Massnahmen zur Abrüstung, Rüstungskontrolle und Exportkontrolle von biologischen Waffen und Dual-Use Gütern sowie der Umsetzung von Abkommen wie das Biowaffenübereinkommen (BWÜ) oder das Exportkontrollregime der Australiengruppe. Schwerpunkt ist die Beratung von Schweizer Delegationen in Verhandlungen, sowie die Unterstützung der nationalen Behörden, die mit der Umsetzung dieser Abkommen betraut sind. Insbesondere stellen wir das jährliche Reporting der Schweiz für die Vertragsstaaten des BWÜ im Rahmen der vertrauensbildenden Massnahmen sicher. Wir nehmen an den Verhandlungen zur Australiengruppe teil und unterstützen die nationalen Behörden bei der Umsetzung und Einhaltung der Exportkontrollregimes.

Mit unseren Aktivitäten im Bereich des UNO-Generalsekretärs-Mechanismus (UNSGM) befassen wir uns mit dem Aufbau eines Labornetzwerks, welches sich forensischen Fragestellungen annimmt, um vorsätzlich eingesetzte Erreger einem Ursprung zuordnen zu können.

Kontakt: Dr. Maximilian Brackmann

Rüstungskontrolle Chemie

Wir sind zuständig für Massnahmen zu Export- und Rüstungskontrolle gegen die Ausbreitung oder Herstellung von chemischen Waffen und für die Umsetzung der multilateralen Abkommen. Zu unserer zentralen Aufgabe gehört die technische Beratung von Schweizer Delegationen sowie von Stellen des Bundes, die mit der Umsetzung dieser Abkommen betraut sind. Insbesondere ist die Rüstungskontrolle Chemie Mitglied der Nationalen Behörde des Chemiewaffenübereinkommens (CWÜ) unter der Federführung des EDA und leitet die Meldestelle für die chemische Industrie für Deklarationen gemäss den Auflagen des CWÜ. Sie berät die chemische Industrie zu OPCW-Routineinspektionen in der Schweiz und begleitet diese fachtechnisch.

Kontakt: Dr. Beat Schmidt


Labor Spiez Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tel.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Labor Spiez

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez