print preview

United Nations Secretary-General’s Mechanism (UNSGM)

Shortly before the end of the conflict between Iran and Iraq, a resolution was passed in 1987 by the plenary that established the UN Secretary-General’s Mechanism for Investigation of Alleged Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons (UNSGM). This mechanism serves as a verification instrument of the Geneva Protocol for investigating alleged uses of chemical and biological weapons.

In the framework of the UNSGM, two lists are compiled: one with experts and one with laboratories that can be supported by the UN member states. Switzerland regularly evaluates its nominations to be ready for an assignment on behalf of the UNSGM and thus able to offer its good offices – as in the case of analytical laboratory tests relating to the UN mission in Syria of August 2013, for example. For their fact-finding mission in Syria, the UN relied on the laboratory network of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW). The OPCW’s designated laboratories – including Spiez Laboratory – are internationally accredited and are subjected to stringent quality tests every year. Since the Chemical Weapons Convention entered into force in 1997, these laboratories have validated their analytical procedures and precisely laid down the criteria for reporting the results. On the basis of these strict and undisputed quality controls, the results of the UN fact-finding mission in Syria were accepted without any reservations, both politically and scientifically.

While there are strict quality standards in the field of chemical weapons, there are no corresponding controls in the biological field. In the case of a UN mission investigating the alleged use of biological weapons, lab analyses might therefore more easily be questioned or even rejected. This is why Spiez Laboratory is committed to establishing corresponding quality assurance and reporting requirements for biological laboratories, so that future UN fact-finding missions relating to biological weapons can also be accepted both politically and scientifically without any reservations.


Spiez Laboratory Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tel.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Spiez Laboratory

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez

print preview

UNO-Generalsekretärsmechanismus UNSGM

Kurz vor Ende des Konflikts zwischen Iran und Irak wurde 1987 mit einer Resolution der Vollversammlung der UNO-Generalsekretärsmechanismus ins Leben gerufen. („United Nations Secretary-General’s Mechanism for Investigation of Alleged Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons“ UNSGM). Dieser Mechanismus dient als eine Art Verifikationsinstrument des Genfer Protokolls für Untersuchungen mutmasslicher Einsätze von chemischen und biologischen Waffen.

Im Rahmen des UNSGM führt die UNO je eine Liste von Experten und Laboratorien, die von UNO-Mitgliedstaaten alimentiert werden können. Die Schweiz überprüft regelmässig ihre Nominationen, um für einen Einsatz zu Gunsten des UNSGM vorbereitet zu sein und so ihre guten Dienste anbieten zu können - wie z.B. für die analytischen Untersuchungen durch das Labor Spiez im Rahmen der UNO Mission in Syrien vom August 2013. Für ihre Erkundungsmission in Syrien stützte sich die UNO auf das Labornetzwerk der Organisation für das Verbot chemischer Waffen (OPCW). Die designierten Laboratorien der OPCW – darunter auch das Labor Spiez - sind international akkreditiert und werden jedes Jahr strengen Qualitätskontrollen unterzogen. Seit dem Inkrafttreten des Chemiewaffenübereinkommens 1997 haben diese Laboratorien ihre Analyseverfahren validiert und Kriterien für die Meldung von Analyseresultaten genau festgehalten. Dank dieser strengen Qualitätskontrollen wurden die Ergebnisse der UNO-Erkundungsmission in Syrien politisch und wissenschaftlich uneingeschränkt akzeptiert.

Im Gegensatz zu den Qualitätsstandards auf dem Gebiet der chemischen Waffen fehlen entsprechende Kontrollen im biologischen Bereich. Bei einer UNO-Mission zur Abklärung eines möglichen Einsatzes biologischer Waffen könnten daher die Analysen der Laboratorien leichter hinterfragt oder gar abgelehnt werden. Das Labor Spiez engagiert sich deshalb für die Etablierung entsprechender Anforderungen an die Qualitätssicherung und Berichterstattung der biologischen Laboratorien, damit in Zukunft potenzielle Erkundungsmissionen der UNO auch im biologischen Bereich von Politik und Wissenschaft uneingeschränkt anerkannt werden können.


Labor Spiez Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tel.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Labor Spiez

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez