print preview

Organic Chemistry

We produce small quantities of highly toxic chemicals that are relevant to the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC). These include chemical warfare agents, their precursors, degradation products, by-products and biomarkers. Each synthesis step is optimised to guarantee the highest possible purity of the target compound.

We test new scientific developments in chemical synthesis and assess their relevance to the production of highly toxic compounds.

Our infrastructure, which is declared as a Schedule 1 Facility for Protective Purposes at the OPCW, enables the safe synthesis of toxic compounds for research, testing and training purposes. Spiez Laboratory limits its work to Treaty-approved activities necessary for the study of protective measures and for medical and pharmaceutical research. We perform the national and international tasks resulting from the CWC ratification.

  • Our work provides a basis for better understanding about chemical warfare agents and their related compounds in terms of the corresponding protection options. We help to maintain the status of Spiez Laboratory as a Designated Laboratory of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW).

We provide reference chemicals for the following specific applications:

  • Development of analytical methods for identifying chemicals
  • Unambiguous and quantitative identification in analytical tests
  • Development and extension of analytical databases
  • Testing of detection and warning systems
  • Testing of protective equipment such as filters and protective clothing
  • Testing of decontamination solutions and decontamination systems


Spiez Laboratory Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tel.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Spiez Laboratory

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez

print preview

Organische Chemie

Wir stellen kleine Mengen von hochgiftigen Chemikalien her, die mit dem Chemiewaffenübereinkommen (CWÜ ) in Beziehung stehen. Dazu gehören unter anderem chemische Kampfstoffe, deren Vorläufer, Abbauprodukte, Nebenprodukte und Biomarker. Jeder Syntheseschritt ist so optimiert, dass die Zielverbindung in der höchstmöglichen Reinheit anfällt.

Wir testen neue wissenschaftlichen Entwicklungen in der chemischen Synthese und beurteilen deren Bedeutung für die Herstellung von hochtoxischen Verbindungen.

Unsere Infrastruktur, die als Liste 1 Kleinanlage für Schutzzwecke bei der OPCW deklariert ist, ermöglicht die sichere Synthese toxischer Verbindungen zu Forschungs-, Test- und Ausbildungszwecken. Das Labor Spiez beschränkt sich bei seinen Arbeiten auf die vom Vertrag zugelassenen, für das Studium von Schutzmassnahmen sowie für medizinische und pharmazeutische Untersuchungen notwendigen Aktivitäten. Wir erfüllen die nationalen und internationalen Aufgaben, welche sich durch die CWÜ-Ratifizierung ergeben.

Mit unserer Arbeit können die Kenntnisse über C-Kampstoffe und verwandten Verbindungen hinsichtlich der entsprechenden Schutzmöglichkeiten verbessert werden. Wir helfen mit, den Status des Labor Spiez als Designiertes Vertrauenslabor der Organisation für das Verbot Chemischer Waffen (OPCW ) zu erhalten.

Wir stellen Referenzchemikalien für spezifische Anwendungen:

  • Entwicklung von analytischen Methoden zur Identifikation von Chemikalien
  • zweifelsfreie und quantitative Bestimmung bei analytischen Untersuchungen
  • Entwicklung und Erweiterung analytischer Datenbanken
  • Test von Detektions- und Warnsystemen
  • Test von Schutzmaterialien wie Filter und Schutzbekleidung
  • Test von Dekontaminationslösungen und –systemen


Labor Spiez Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tel.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Labor Spiez

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez