Spiez Laboratory

Spiez Laboratory, the Swiss Federal Institute for NBC-Protection, is a division of the Federal Office for Civil Protection. We provide services relating to arms control, protection measures, health and incident management for international organisations, authorities and the general population.

Further informations

Arms Control and Disarmament Strategy 2022–25

At its meeting on February 2, 2022, the Federal Council adopted the Arms Control and Disarmament Strategy 2022-2025 (RAN Strategy). In the field of action “Chemical and Biological Weapons”, the contributions of Spiez Laboratory are highlighted, in particular the close cooperation with the OPCW (among others as Designated Laboratory) as well as the Spiez CONVERGENCE conference series and the UNSGM workshop series. In general, science and technology are judged to be very important for the further development of arms control.

Further informations

Spiez Laboratory becomes WHO BioHub

On 24 May 2021, Federal Councillor Alain Berset and WHO Director-General Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus signed a cooperation agreement within the framework of the WHO BioHub Initiative. With this agreement, Switzerland will make the Spiez Biosafety Laboratory available to the WHO as a repository for SARS-CoV-2 viruses or other pathogens with epidemic or pandemic potential.

Further informations

International conferences in Spiez Laboratory

The Spiez Laboratory is organising two international conferences in September 2022. From 11 to 14 September, the 5th Spiez CONVERGENCE Conference will be held. The 7th UNSGM Designated Laboratories Workshop will take place on 14 and 16 September.

Further informations

Services

Arms Control

Arms Control

Spiez Laboratory works in the framework of the implementation and preparation of international disarmament and arms control treaties.

Accredited laboratories

Accredited laboratories

Spiez Laboratory operates six testing centres that are accredited by the Swiss Accreditation Service (SAS).

Training

Training

Spiez Laboratory provides vocational training. We offer apprenticeships as chemistry or biology lab technicians to young people living in the region.

Laboratoire de Spiez

Le Laboratoire de Spiez est l'institut fédéral chargé de la protection NBC. Nous sommes une division de l’Office fédéral de la protection de la population (OFPP) qui s’occupe des dangers représentés par des événements nucléaires, biologiques ou chimiques (NBC) et de leurs conséquences possibles sur le plan scientifique et technique.

Informations complémentaires

Stratégie de maîtrise des armements et de désarmement

Lors de sa séance du 2 février 2022, le Conseil fédéral a adopté la stratégie de maîtrise des armements et de désarmement 2022-2025 (stratégie MADNP). Dans le domaine des armes chimiques et biologiques, les activités du Laboratoire de Spiez sont mises en avant. On évoque notamment l’étroite collaboration avec l’OIAC (entre autres en tant que laboratoire désigné), la série de conférences intitulée « Spiez Convergence » et les ateliers techniques organisés dans le cadre du soutien au UNSGM (UNSGM Designated Laboratories Workshop). D’une manière générale, les contributions du domaine des sciences et des technologies sont considérées comme essentielles pour le développement de la maîtrise des armements.

Informations complémentaires

Le Laboratoire de Spiez devient un BioHub de l’OMS

Le 24 mai 2021, le conseiller fédéral Alain Berset a signé avec le directeur général de l’OMS, le Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, un accord de coopération dans le cadre de l’initiative BioHub. La Suisse met le laboratoire biologique de sécurité de Spiez à la disposition de l’OMS afin de servir de conservatoire pour des virus SARS-CoV-2 ou d’autres agents pathogènes à potentiel épidémique ou pandémique.

Informations complémentaires

Conférences internationales au Laboratoire de Spiez

Le Laboratoire de Spiez organise deux conférences internationales au mois de septembre 2022. Du 11 au 14 septembre se tiendra le 5e Spiez CONVERGENCE conférence. Quant au 7e UNSGM Designated Laboratories Workshop, il aura lieu les 14 et 16 septembre.

Informations complémentaires

Services

Contrôle de l’armement

Contrôle de l’armement

Le Laboratoire de Spiez effectue des missions dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre et de la préparation de traités internationaux concernant le désarmement et le contrôle des armements.

Organes accrédités

Organes accrédités

Le Laboratoire de Spiez exploite six services d'essai admis par le Service d'accréditation suisse (SAS).

Formation

Formation

Le Laboratoire de Spiez est un établissement de formation. Nous proposons à des jeunes de la région des places d'apprentissage de laborantin·e en chimie ou en biologie.