print preview

National Authority CWC

The Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) entered into force on 29 April 1997 and to date 193 States have acceded to this legally binding international treaty (as of August 2021). They undertake to destroy any chemical weapons stockpiles they may have within specified deadlines, not to develop, produce, acquire or use such weapons, and to subject their chemical industries to a strict international verification regime. The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), based in The Hague, monitors the implementation of the CWC in the States Parties.

States Parties are obliged to report the production, processing, consumption and transfer of certain chemicals above a specified threshold to the OPCW Technical Secretariat and to allow inspections on their territory. OPCW inspectors check the submitted declarations for correctness and completeness. These inspections verify compliance with the treaty and promote transparency and trust among Member States.

Switzerland does not possess any chemical weapons. However, its chemical and pharmaceutical industry works with chemicals that are controlled by the CWC. These are so-called dual-use chemicals, which can be used for both civilian and military purposes. For this reason, Swiss companies and, on the basis of an agreement, also those from the Principality of Liechtenstein that carry out such CWC-relevant activities are subject to corresponding declaration and inspection obligations.

The CWC requires each State Party to establish a National Authority for the implementation of the CWC. In Switzerland, the International Security Division (AIS) of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) heads this CWC National Authority. Also represented in this authority are: the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) of the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER), International Relations Defence (IB V) and the Spiez Laboratory of the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport (DDPS).

This website is intended to serve in particular as a source of information for the industry concerned in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein regarding their obligations under the CWC. For further questions or concerns, please contact the representatives of the National Authority directly. 

Structure of the Swiss National Authority
Structure of the Swiss National Authority

Legal bases

The Goods Control Act (GCA) forms the legal basis for the implementation of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) in Switzerland. The corresponding implementing regulations are contained in the Chemicals Control Ordinance (CCO). The annex to the CCO lists the controlled chemicals.


Spiez Laboratory Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tel.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Spiez Laboratory

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez

print preview

Autorité nationale CAC

La Convention sur les armes chimiques (CAC) est entrée en vigueur le 29 avril 1997. À ce jour, 193 États Parties ont adhéré à ce traité (état août 2021) qui est contraignant en droit international. Les Etats Parties s'engagent à détruire tout stock d'armes chimiques qu'ils pourraient posséder dans des délais précis, à ne pas développer, produire, acquérir ou utiliser de telles armes, et à soumettre leurs industries chimiques à un régime de vérification international strict. L'Organisation pour l'interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC), basée à La Haye, surveille la mise en œuvre de la CAC dans les États Parties.

Les États Parties sont tenus de déclarer au Secrétariat technique de l'OIAC la production, le traitement, la consommation et le transfert de certains produits chimiques au-delà d'une valeur seuil déterminée et d'autoriser les inspections sur leur territoire. Les inspecteurs de l'OIAC vérifient l'exactitude et l'exhaustivité des déclarations soumises. Cela permet de vérifier le respect du traité et de promouvoir la transparence et la confiance entre les États Parties.

La Suisse ne possède pas d'armes chimiques. Cependant, son industrie chimique et pharmaceutique travaille avec des produits chimiques qui sont soumis au régime de vérification de la CAC. Il s'agit de produits chimiques dits à double usage, qui peuvent être utilisés à des fins tant civiles que militaires. C'est pourquoi les entreprises suisses et, sur la base d'un accord, également celles de la Principauté de Liechtenstein, qui exercent de telles activités dans le cadre de la CAC sont soumises aux obligations de déclaration et d'inspection correspondantes.

La CAC oblige chaque État Partie à établir une Autorité Nationale pour sa mise en œuvre. En Suisse, la Division Sécurité internationale (DSI) du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE) préside cette Autorité Nationale CAC. Sont également représentés au sein de cette autorité: le (SECO) du Département fédéral de l'économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR), les Relations internationales de la défense (IR D) et le Laboratoire Spiez du Département fédéral de la défense, de la protection de la population et des sports (DDPS).

Ce site web est destiné à servir en particulier de source d'information pour l'industrie concernée en Suisse et dans la Principauté du Liechtenstein quant à leurs obligations en vers la CAC. Pour toute autre question ou préoccupation, veuillez contacter directement les représentants de l'Autorité nationale CAC. 

Structure de l’autorité nationale Suisse
Structure de l’autorité nationale Suisse


Laboratoire de Spiez Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tél.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Laboratoire de Spiez

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez