print preview

NBC arms control

“Switzerland seeks to prevent further proliferation of nuclear, biological and chemical weapons of mass destruction and to achieve their complete abolition.” (Report 2010 of the Federal Council on Switzerland’s Security Policy)

Switzerland attaches great importance to international arms control and non-proliferation efforts. As an institute serving the interests of national and international security, we are deeply committed to mitigating the threat posed by weapons of mass destruction. We support the implementation and preparation of international treaties of disarmament and arms control with the following services:

  • Consultations for the FDFA, SECO and export control organisations
  • Expertise for Swiss representatives in disarmament negotiations
  • Participating in disarmament negotiations
  • Provision of substances, analyses and data to international organisations
  • Measurement exercises
  • Training of arms control inspectors
  • Implementation of allocated tasks within the scope of national authorities
  • Increase awareness for the dual-use issue

With our conference series Spiez CONVERGENCE, we have created an information and discussion platform on the latest advances and trends in science and technology as well as the convergence of different disciplines with potentially far-reaching consequences for the Biological and Toxin Weapons Convention (BTWC) and the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) as well as the export control regimes.

Contact: Dr. Cédric Invernizzi

Nuclear arms control

We advise Swiss delegations in negotiations as well as federal authorities entrusted with the implementation of nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation treaties. This includes serving as experts in the framework of the Comprehensive Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT). Based on our access to the International Monitoring System’s (IMS) measurement data, we follow the measurements and data products of the International Data Centre (IDC). In the case of a nuclear event, its global network of around 80 radionuclide monitoring stations quickly provides relevant information.
In the area of nuclear forensics we deal with the attribution of radioactive samples or fissile material to their origins, or rather their manufacturer.

Contact: Dr. Christoph Wirz

Arms control for biological weapons

We are engaged in disarmament, arms control and export control measures for biological weapons and dual-use goods, as well as the implementation of treaties such as the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) or the Australia Group’s export control regime. The focus lies on advising Swiss delegations in negotiations, as well as supporting the federal authorities entrusted with the implementation of these treaties. In particular, we are responsible for Switzerland’s annual reporting to the States Parties to the BTWC within the framework of confidence-building measures. We participate in the negotiations on the Australia Group and support the national authorities in ensuring implementation of and compliance with the export control regimes.

With our activities in the area of the UN Secretary-General’s Mechanism (UNSGM), we are building up a laboratory network that addresses forensic issues in order to be able to assign deliberately used pathogens to an origin.

Contact: Dr. Maximilian Beckmann

Arms control for chemical weapons

We are responsible for export and arms control measures that mitigate the spread or production of chemical weapons and support the implementation of multilateral agreements. Our core mission includes providing technical advice to Swiss delegations as well as to federal authorities entrusted with the implementation of these treaties. In particular, Arms Control for Chemical Weapons is part of the national authority of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) under the auspices of the FDFA and heads the reporting office for the chemical industry for declarations in accordance with the requirements of the CWC. It advises the chemical industry on OPCW routine inspections in Switzerland and provides technical support.

Contact: Dr. Beat Schmidt


Spiez Laboratory Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tel.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Spiez Laboratory

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez

print preview

Contrôle de l’armement NBC

« La Suisse s’engage en particulier contre la diffusion et pour l’élimination complète des armes de destruction massive nucléaires, biologiques et chimiques. » (Rapport 2010 du Conseil fédéral sur la politique de sécurité de la Suisse)

Pour la Suisse, les efforts déployés au niveau international en vue de la maîtrise des armements et d’empêcher la prolifération des armes de destruction massive revêtent une grande importance. Le Laboratoire de Spiez, institut suisse au service de la sécurité nationale et internationale, s’emploie tout particulièrement à réduire la menace liée aux armes de destruction massive. Il contribue à la préparation et à l’application des accords internationaux de désarmement et de maîtrise des armements en assurant les prestations suivantes :

  • conseiller le DFAE, le SECO et le groupe de contrôle des exportations,
  • effectuer des expertises pour le compte des représentants de la Suisse dans le cadre des négociations sur le désarmement,
  • participer aux négociations sur le désarmement,
  • mettre des substances, des analyses et des données à la disposition des organisations internationales,
  • organiser des exercices de mesure,
  • former des inspecteurs dans le domaine de la maîtrise des armements,
  • remplir les missions qui lui sont confiées par les autorités nationales,
  • sensibiliser au problème des biens à double usage

Avec notre série de conférences Spiez CONVERGENCE, nous créons une plateforme d'information et de discussion sur les avancées et les tendances dans le domaine de la science et de la technologie ainsi que sur la convergence de diverses disciplines ayant des conséquences potentiellement importantes pour les conventions sur les armes biologiques et chimiques et les régimes de contrôle des exportations.

Contact: Dr. Cédric Invernizzi

Contrôle des armes nucléaires

Nous conseillons les délégations suisses dans les négociations ainsi que les organes fédéraux chargés de la mise en œuvre des accords de désarmement et de non-prolifération nucléaires. Cela inclut les activités d'experts dans le cadre du Traité d'interdiction complète des essais nucléaires (TICE, en angl. CTBT). Grâce à l'accès aux données de mesure du Système de surveillance international (IMS), nous suivons les informations fournies par le Centre international de collecte des données (IDC). En cas d'incident nucléaire, le réseau mondial d'environ 80 stations de mesure des radionucléides fournit rapidement des informations.

Dans le domaine de la criminalistique nucléaire, nous nous employons à déterminer l’origine ou le fabricant d'échantillons radioactifs ou de matières fissiles.

Contact: Dr. Christoph Wirz

Contrôle des armes biologiques

Nous nous occupons du désarmement, du contrôle des armements et des mesures de contrôle des exportations d'armes biologiques et de biens à double usage, ainsi que de la mise en œuvre d'accords tels que la Convention sur les armes biologiques (CAB) ou le régime de contrôle des exportations du Groupe d’Australie. L'accent est mis sur le conseil aux délégations suisses dans les négociations, ainsi que sur le soutien aux autorités nationales chargées de la mise en œuvre de ces accords. En particulier, nous veillons à ce que la Suisse présente un rapport annuel aux États parties à la CAB dans le cadre des mesures de confiance. Nous participons aux négociations sur le Groupe d'Australie et aidons les autorités nationales à mettre en œuvre et à respecter les régimes de contrôle des exportations.

Dans le cadre de nos activités dans le domaine du mécanisme du Secrétaire général des Nations unies (UNSGM), nous participons à la mise en place d'un réseau de laboratoires qui traite des questions médico-légales afin de pouvoir déterminer l’origine des agents pathogènes utilisés délibérément.

Contact: Dr. Maximilian Beckmann

Contrôle des armes chimiques

Nous sommes responsables des mesures de contrôle des exportations et des armes contre la prolifération ou la production d'armes chimiques et de la mise en œuvre des accords multilatéraux. Notre tâche principale consiste à fournir des conseils techniques aux délégations suisses ainsi qu'aux organes fédéraux chargés de la mise en œuvre de ces accords. En particulier, le groupe Contrôle des armes chimiques est membre des autorités nationales de la Convention sur les armes chimiques (CAC) sous les auspices du DFAE et dirige le bureau de l'industrie chimique pour les déclarations conformément aux exigences de la CAC. Il conseille l'industrie chimique sur les inspections de routine de l'OIAC en Suisse et fournit un soutien technique.

Contact: Dr. Beat Schmidt


Laboratoire de Spiez Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tél.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Laboratoire de Spiez

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez