print preview

United Nations Secretary-General’s Mechanism (UNSGM)

Shortly before the end of the conflict between Iran and Iraq, a resolution was passed in 1987 by the plenary that established the UN Secretary-General’s Mechanism for Investigation of Alleged Use of Chemical and Biological Weapons (UNSGM). This mechanism serves as a verification instrument of the Geneva Protocol for investigating alleged uses of chemical and biological weapons.

In the framework of the UNSGM, two lists are compiled: one with experts and one with laboratories that can be supported by the UN member states. Switzerland regularly evaluates its nominations to be ready for an assignment on behalf of the UNSGM and thus able to offer its good offices – as in the case of analytical laboratory tests relating to the UN mission in Syria of August 2013, for example. For their fact-finding mission in Syria, the UN relied on the laboratory network of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW). The OPCW’s designated laboratories – including Spiez Laboratory – are internationally accredited and are subjected to stringent quality tests every year. Since the Chemical Weapons Convention entered into force in 1997, these laboratories have validated their analytical procedures and precisely laid down the criteria for reporting the results. On the basis of these strict and undisputed quality controls, the results of the UN fact-finding mission in Syria were accepted without any reservations, both politically and scientifically.

While there are strict quality standards in the field of chemical weapons, there are no corresponding controls in the biological field. In the case of a UN mission investigating the alleged use of biological weapons, lab analyses might therefore more easily be questioned or even rejected. This is why Spiez Laboratory is committed to establishing corresponding quality assurance and reporting requirements for biological laboratories, so that future UN fact-finding missions relating to biological weapons can also be accepted both politically and scientifically without any reservations.


Spiez Laboratory Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tel.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Spiez Laboratory

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez

print preview

Mécanisme du Secrétaire général de l’ONU (UNSGM)

Le mécanisme du Secrétaire général des Nations unies a été créé par une résolution de l'Assemblée générale en 1987, peu avant la fin du conflit entre l'Iran et l'Irak (Mécanisme d'enquête du Secrétaire général des Nations unies sur l'utilisation présumée d'armes chimiques et biologiques, UNSGM). Ce mécanisme sert en quelque sorte d'instrument de vérification du protocole de Genève pour les enquêtes sur l'utilisation présumée d'armes chimiques et biologiques.

Dans le cadre de l'UNSGM, l'ONU tient une liste d'experts et de laboratoires qui peuvent être soutenus par les États membres. La Suisse revoit régulièrement ses nominations afin d'être prête pour une mission en faveur de l'UNSGM et ainsi pouvoir offrir ses bons services, par exemple pour les analyses du Laboratoire de Spiez dans le cadre de la mission de l'ONU en Syrie en août 2013. À cette occasion, l'ONU s'est appuyée sur le réseau de laboratoires de l'Organisation pour l'interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC). Les laboratoires désignés par l'OIAC– dont le Laboratoire de Spiez – sont accrédités au niveau international et subissent chaque année des contrôles de qualité stricts. Depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la Convention sur les armes chimiques en 1997, ces laboratoires ont validé leurs procédures analytiques et défini précisément les critères de communication des résultats d'analyse. Grâce à ces contrôles de qualité stricts, les résultats de la mission d'enquête de l'ONU en Syrie ont été pleinement acceptés sur le plan politique et scientifique.

Contrairement aux normes de qualité dans le domaine des armes chimiques, il n'existe pas de contrôles du même type dans le domaine biologique. En cas de mission de l'ONU visant à clarifier l'utilisation éventuelle d'armes biologiques, il serait donc plus facile de mettre en doute, voire de rejeter, les analyses des laboratoires. Le Laboratoire de Spiez s'engage donc à établir des exigences appropriées en matière d'assurance qualité et de présentation de rapports par les laboratoires biologiques, afin qu'à l'avenir, les missions d'enquête potentielles de l'ONU dans le domaine biologique puissent également être pleinement reconnues par les politiques et les scientifiques.


Laboratoire de Spiez Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez
Tél.
+41 58 468 14 00

E-Mail

Laboratoire de Spiez

Austrasse
CH-3700 Spiez